Recommendation: Roland Humphrey is Wearing a WHAT?

Soo recommends…

Book cover of "Roland Humphrey is Wearing a WHAT?": A young child with short blonde hair skips over a lawn in a purple cape fastened with a yellow butterfly, wearing a baseball glove. They are dressed in a green-magenta striped T-shirt, blue shorts and purple sneakers. There are flowers along the bottom of the foreground, and bushes looking like green footballs in the background.

“Roland Humphrey is Wearing a WHAT?” is a picture book for children from the perspective of a young child who can’t understand why kids must be dressed according to their gender. Roland Humphrey loves hockey, but also ballet; Roland Humphrey wears pants but also lavender shoes, tiaras and sparkly butterfly pins. When friends criticize Roland for breaking the “boy rules,” the child tries to conform. But eventually Roland Humphrey decides being true to one’s self is all that matters. For readers of “My Princess Boy” and “10,000 Dresses” who are looking for another addition to their children’s book library and/or recommendations.

» Recommend something. «

Posted by on June 10th, 2013 at 08:00 am

Category: books, recommendations Comment »

Leave a Reply

Can I show your picture? If you have a Gravatar associated with this email address, it will be displayed as your photo. If not, I'll just put a picture of a fork next to your comment. Everybody likes forks.

Be nice. Judgmental comments will be quietly deleted and blacklisted. There's plenty of room for those elsewhere on the web.

For legal reasons, you must be age 13 or older to post a comment on Genderfork.

You can use some HTML tags for formatting, e.g. <em>...</em> for emphasis (italics) or <strong>...</strong> for strong emphasis (bold) or <a href="http://(url)">...</a> for links.

Back to top